VFW 4471 announces Voice of Democracy winners

Mikayla VanNatter, Jayson Tretter and Garrett Oneyear are the 2017 winners of the VFW Voice of Democracy oratorical contest. The Voice of Democracy theme this year is “American History: Our Hope for the Future.”

VanNatter, as the Lake Guernsey VFW Post 4471 winner, advanced to compete in the Department of Wyoming District 5 competition. Earlier this month, she won the District 5 competition and has now advanced to compete at the State/Department level.

Students in grades 9-12 compose and record an oral presentation lasting 3-5 minutes to win the opportunity to advance to higher levels of competition and to, ultimately, qualify for a trip to Washington, D.C. and a chance to win the top prize of a $30,000 scholarship.


Video News
More In Home