Vikings send three to WY-NE Six-Man Shoot-out

KAYCEE--The Guernsey-Sunrise Vikings placed three senior players on Wyoming’s Six-Man Shootout football roster for this year’s showdown against Nebraska’s top six-man players.
Cody Quynn, Seth Frederick and Lukas Osmera were listed on the Wyoming roster of 18 players in the senior-only all-star matchup that began in 2012. The game is held each June and alternates host sites between each state’s winner in Six-Man football.
This year’s game was played at Kaycee, hosted by the 2016 Class 1-A champion Buckaroos. Nebraska was up 52-22 at halftime.
Despite a strong line-up, Nebraska took advantage of five Wyoming first-half turnovers and managed a 58-38 win over the Cowboy State to even up the series at 3-3.
Nebraska racked up 239 yards on the ground for four touchdowns and added 314 in the air (four touchdowns) while Wyoming ran for 370 yards (three touchowns) and passed for 172 (two touchdowns).
Quynn finished the game with -3 rushing yards and completed five of eight passes for 108 yards and three interceptions.
Frederick ran the ball four times for 18 yards and had one catch for 12 yards.
It was Frederick’s first competition in any sport since he suffered a severe break in his leg during a playoff game last October at Hulett.
It made for a tough senior year as he had to forego basketball and track while undergoing physical therapy following surgery.
Joining the Viking players were Austin Nicholson and Dallin Christensen of Burlington, Brock Baker of Dubois, Thomas Rezzonico and Ryan Curtis of Farson-Eden, Jarrett Niemark of Hanna-Elk Mountain, Bodhi Penning of Hulett, Reed Stafford of Kaycee, Garrett Cooper and Dallen Fleenor of Lingle-Fort Laramie, Dalton Abarr and Cole Burbank of Meeteetse, Nick Ray and Dustin Bogart of Midwest and Kolten Moss of Rock River.
Leo Kremers of Kaycee was the Wyoming head coach and he was assisted by Marvin Applequist of Farson-Eden, Tony Rouse of Kaycee and Ken Swieter of Midwest.

© 2019-Guernsey Gazette

Video News
More In Home