Local baseball, softball teams bigtime winners

GUERNSEY—It wouldn’t be summer without baseball and softball and some area young people have had some great successes on the diamonds this season.
Culminating the Minor Little League schedule is the league championships and this year, the Guernsey Red Sox walked away with top honors.
Coached by Gordon Noggle and Chris Delay, the Red Sox had an outstanding season, playing at a level not always seen at this level. Coach Noggle said he was very pleased with the way the kids played and how much fun it was to coach a team that is pushing for double plays and smart baserunning.
In the tournament, the Sox picked up a bye in the first round and then topped the Wheatland Yankees 7-0 to set up a championship game with the Twins. Guernsey won the hardware with an 11-1 rout to claim their second title in three years. Members of the team were Garrett Cowan, Braxton Delay, Tanner Delay, Blake Gardner, Adam Harbour, Ryker McConahay, Zayden Martinez, Gavin Noggle, Tanner Offe, Kaydence Rodriguez and Henry Zapf.
The team was also treated to a Colorado Rockies game and held a baseball Olympics, including Guernsey’s other Minor League team, the Rockies.
Guernsey had four girls play for the Wheatland Lobos and their season also ended up with first place trophies in the state tournament in Casper two weeks ago.
Tatum Struble and Kierstyn Collar played on the 12 & Under team. Kamlee Collar played on the 10 & Under team.
The 10U team, coached by Derrick Sisson, Courtney Sisson and Hayley Robertson went undefeated through the state tournament. The team faced the 10U Lander Legends in the championship game, claiming a 14-4 win and the title. Additional members of the team were Gabreal Taylor, Haidyn Sisson, Ella Anderson, Lily Anderson, Edyn Whitney, Maggie Hicks, Carly Robertson, Ayden Coates, Landry Vaughn and Halle Mickelsen.
The 12U team, coached by Travis Lockman, Scott Aurich, Jeff Struble and Eric Collar also had a perfect record through the tournament. They defeated the 12U Lander Legends 24-3 to capture the championship. Additional members include Ella Keil, Kenzie Lockman, Camryn Mickelsen, Allison Blum, Hunter Sisson, Tatum Struble, Eleni Mckee and Delaney Aurich.


Video News