Frederick family hosts 25th annual memorial golf tournament

GUERNSEY - For 25 years golfers from all over the country have been coming to Guernsey in August to golf in the Frederick Memorial Golf Tournament. 

They come in trailers and campers, pickup trucks and four-wheelers. Some even drive golf carts. One of the biggest events of the season is in the books in the COVID-ravaged year of 2020. It certainly didn’t affect the golf or the spirit in which it was intended.

In their own words, and in a commemorative book created just for the silver anniversary of the event, the tale unfolded as to how the tournament got its start.

“When Grandpa Chet passed away in September 1995, a simple conversation started between John and Craig while working together. Knowing how important education and sports were to Chet, they decided a golf tournament in his name would be a way to honor him and give back to the community he lived in. The family loved the idea and decided the ‘Chet Frederick Memorial Golf Tournament would be held ever year in August. Uncle Rick passed away in 2003 and the name changed to the “Frederick Memorial Golf Tournament.”

Back in 1996 when the tournament began there were 27 teams and the family didn’t know if the tournament would be successful. After that first year, they knew that somewhere Grandpa Chet was smiling down from a distance.

By 1997 the first scholarship was given to one recipient, Danny Sisson, in the amount of $500. In 25 years, the tournament has given $146,150 and awarded 399 scholarships to 138 different students.  This year there was $10,700 given out in total scholarship money divided between 20 different students.

Tournament hosts awarded $10,700 in college scholarships to 20 Guernsey-Sunrise graduates on Aug. 15 

Students receiving scholarships:

 $700 to fourth year recipients: 

Chad Quynn – University of Wyoming

Seth Frederick – Casper College

Kevin Tang Logan – Penn State Univ

$600 to third year recipients:

Shae Ibarra – UW

Laikin Reichert – UW

Dalton Elmore – UW

Dalton Foos – Casper College

$500 to second year recipients:

Krista Malcom - Black Hills State Univ., Spearfish, S.D.

Kassidy Morales – Casper College

Austin Albrecht – Colorado Mesa Univ, Grand Junction, Colo

Destiny Covington – EWC, Torrington

Mariah Klatt – EWC, Torrington

Bailey Martin – EWC, Torrington

Whitney Martin – EWC, Torrington

Kacey McCoid – Montana State Univ. , Bozeman, Mont.

Trinity Ayers – UW

McKenzie Romero – UW

$400 to first year recipiets:

Victoria Sierra – Casper College

Derrick Rogers – Casper College

Mickayla VanNatter – Hastings College, Neb.

Tournament Results

Flight AA-

1st – Cody Benton, Joe Deeney, Merit Bunker (-13)

 Flight A –

1st – Dustin Rothe, Mike Wilhelm, Dave Patterson (-10)   

Flight B 

1st – Jennifer Lopez, Nathan Garner, Rob Lopez (-11)

Flight C1

1st– Brent Notman, Justin Notman, Jerry Notman (-7)

Flight C2

1st –(Tie) Jay Johnson, Fred Stringham, Caryn Stringham (-6

(Tie) Dave Berg, Josh Berg, Ashley Knapp (6) 

Flight D

1st – Brian Jackson, Miles Whitney, Nate Bowman (-6)

Flight E

1st – Tom Jackson, Gary Lockman, Craig Brown (-4)

Flight F    

1st – Sawyer Roberson, Slade Robrson, Lauren Stovall (-2)


Video News
More In Sports